You may have come across this term in conversation or in passing, it relates to new rules regarding the operation of privately operated aircraft in Europe and takes effect from 25 August 2016.

What is Part-NCC ? 

“EASA Part-NCC” stands for “non-commercial complex aircraft operations”

EASA Air Operations Regulation (EU) No 965/2012 Part-NCC applies to non-commercial flights in complex motor-powered aircraft.

These rules will require many private operators, including many small operators (e.g. pilot managed aircraft) to follow the same essential requirements as commercial air transport operators.

However, the rules are proportionate – you do not have to hold a full AOC, but UK private operators must submit a declaration about the operation to the CAA – regardless of where the aircraft is registered.

Does this apply to me ?

If you are flying a complex motor-powered aircraft on non-commercial (private) flights, then the answer is YES if the following apply:

The Aircraft:

A complex motor-powered aircraft is an aeroplane that satisfies any one of the below:

  • has a maximum certificated take-off mass exceeding 5700 kg;
  • is certificated for a maximum passenger seating configuration of more than 19;
  • is certificated for operation with a minimum crew of two pilots;
  • is equipped with a turbojet engine(s);
  • is equipped with more than one turboprop engine and exceeding 5700kg.

The above definitions will catch include all single pilot light jets (CJ series, Phenom, Mustang and so on) in the turbojet rule.

The definition also includes helicopters which satisfy any one of the below:

  • Is certificated for a maximum take-off mass exceeding 3175 kg;
  • is certificated for a maximum passenger seating configuration of more than nine;
  • is certificated for operation with a minimum crew of two pilots;

and finally, the definition also includes tilt rotor aircraft.

Your Operation

If the aircraft falls within the rules, then the operation also falls within the rules if:

  • The aircraft is registered in an EASA State; OR
  • The aircraft is registered in a non- EASA State BUT where the operator is established or residing in an EASA State.

What do I need to do ?

Operators who fall into the definitions above will need to be familiar with the EASA Basic Regulation and the Air Operations Regulation. They will also need to comply with the detailed implementing rules in Annex III (Part-ORO Organisation Requirements) and Annex VI (Part-NCC).

What this means in English is that affected operators need to understand the rules and ensure they are in compliance by having for example

  • an operations manual; and
  • a management system

You must complete and submit a declaration to the CAA which details your aircraft type, your operational and continuing airworthiness arrangements and any approvals held along with any other relevant information.

Aviation authorities will be under an obligation to audit operators who make these declarations, and aircraft may be subject to ramp checks.

How can Naljets help ?

We can help you with complete Part NCC compliance in a way which allows you to get on with running your own operation and the job of flying.

We will provide you with operations manuals and the management system derived from our own worldwide AOC operation, airworthiness approvals and training requirements from our own ATO approvals to allow the statement of compliance to be submitted to the CAA.

We will then monitor changes in the Part NCC rules and work with you on any changes in your own operation to ensure you stay compliant into the future, allowing you to fly safe in the knowledge that all boxes are ticked.

For further information or to discuss your plan towards Part-NCC compliance, please email